Rebel, Rebel Princess – Princess Leia (Star Wars)/David Bowie

2016 was a tough year for a lot of people. For me, three of my heroes passed away – David Bowie, Prince, and Carrie Fisher. I’ve seen the mashup of Princess Leia and David Bowie in artwork before, but I really wanted to take my own spin on it and turn it into a costume. My goal was to blend the two as much as possible.

rebelrebelprincess-dressbelt

The Dress: I bought two kinds of fabric for the dress – white Sew Classic Knits Jet Set Fabric and Glitterbug Foil Dot Mesh Fabric in white, which were both purchased from Joann Fabrics. I bought eight yards of the white knit fabric, and four yards of the foil dot mesh fabric. For the construction, I basically followed P&S Costume Creations’ tutorial. The fabrics didn’t particularly get along with my sewing machine, so much of the dress was hand-sewn. That slowed me down a lot, but I’m glad I did it because I think I would have ruined the fabric otherwise.

The Belt: The belt was made from two layers of white faux leather fabric and glued together using E6000. The “plates” were made from a sheet of silver glitter Darice Foamies, and the “buttons” were made with 1 1/8″ wide cover buttons. Everything was glued in place with E6000. I loosely followed P&S Costume Creations’ belt tutorial.

The Boots: I bought a pair of silver Ellie Shoes Go-Go Boots.

The Wig: I bought the Leia Classic wig from Arda Wigs in “Dark Copper Red.” The buns were secured with six Goody Spin Pins in each bun (three large and three small), and then wrapped in a hair net to keep everything tucked in place. I’m not going to lie, it took me so many tries to get these to look decent. I basically followed this tutorial from Sew Corellian.

16251768_10154177090518038_6063486979504691785_o

The Blaster: I bought this blaster and sanded it down with a fine-grit sandpaper and painted it with two coats of DecoArt Americana Gloss Enamels in Shimmering Silver. Then, I used Mod Podge to adhere extra fine silver glitter to the entire blaster, and sealed it with a few coats of Krylon Crystal Clear Acrylic spray.

The Leggings: I bought a pair of World of Leggings white leggings. They’re sort of light a legging/tights hybrid, which worked out pretty well for the costume.

The Makeup: Unsurprisingly, I used a lot of products. I used a stick of good old Elmer’s glue (the kind that goes on purple but dries clear) and followed Beautylish’s tutorial for blocking eyebrows. I also used foundation and powder for that process. Then, I used my normal concealer and translucent powder for the rest of my face as a base. I used various shades of pink and purple from NYX Cosmetics’ Ultimate Shadow Palette in “Brights” for the shadowing on my temples, cheekbones, nose, and eyelids/eyebrows. I used the white eyeshadow from the NYX Cosmetics’ Avant Pop! Shadow Palette in “Art Throb” for the highlighting. I used my usual black eyeliner and black mascara for my eyes. The lightning bolt was done with NYX Cosmetics’ SFX Creme Colour in a mix of “Red” and “Orange.” The blue line was made with NYX Cosmetics’ Slim Eye Pencil in “Electric Blue.” I used black eyeliner in-between the red/orange and blue. I used NYX Cosmetics’ SFX Setting Powder to seal everything. Lipstick was MAC Cosmetics’ Lady Gaga Viva Glam lipstick, but it’s been long discontinued (yes, I’m still using lipstick that’s seven years old). I basically followed this tutorial from Maskworld.

Everything ended up looking pretty good, I think!

rebelrebelprincess

Pretty sure I could kill off a bunch of Stormtroopers and then be ready to rock out by 9 PM with this look.

Leave a Reply

