Rebel, Rebel Princess Blaster

img_4656

I finished my Rebel, Rebel Princess blaster this weekend!

As you can see in the above photo, the blaster (which is just a Rubie’s Costume Co. prop) was white with orange accents. I received a tip from a friend who also painted one of these blasters and he suggested that I lightly sand the blaster with a fine-grit sandpaper and wash it with dish soap before painting it. Apparently paint doesn’t seem to adhere to the orange areas very well. I also used a little acetone nail polish remover to try and get some of the orange paint off of the blaster. I didn’t get all of it, but sanding it down definitely helped.

Then, I painted the blaster with two coats of DecoArt Americana Gloss Enamels acrylic paint in Shimmering Silver. This paint has really good coverage, which surprised me. I’ve had issues with metallic acrylic paint in the past where they paint on really streaky. Then, I added the glitter by painting a small area with Mod Podge and sprinkling glitter over the painted area and shaking the excess off. I repeated this process until the entire blaster was covered in glitter.

16251768_10154177090518038_6063486979504691785_o

Looks pretty glittery and fantastic, yeah? Only issue is that glitter pretty much exploded off of the dang thing every time I touched it. I was covered in glitter. The floor was covered in glitter. My cats were covered in glitter. (Not that this is a bad thing, but…)

This was remedied by spraying two coats of Krylon Crystal Clear Acrylic spray, and then painting a layer of Mod Podge Extreme Glitter (mixed with a fair amount of the same silver glitter I used on the rest of the blaster). The acrylic spray held the majority of the glitter in place, and the Mod Podge really helped keep the glitter adhered to the blaster (and, by using the Extreme Glitter version, it added some nice iridescent sparkle, too).

When I debuted my Rebel, Rebel Princess costume a couple of weeks ago, I had only sprayed one coat of acrylic spray over the blaster, and it was still exploding glitter everywhere, so hopefully this final process will help seal everything in. I’ll find out this weekend when I wear it at MarsCon.

Leave a Reply

