Map to Luke Skywalker

In Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Poe Dameron is given a data storage unit that contains the map to Luke Skywalker’s location by Lor San Tekka. Because the internet is a wonderful (yet strange) place, there are 3D print files available to print a version of the data storage unit. Madeline (of MADsCosplay) printed out a bunch and gave me one, which is the perfect little prop for my Poe Dameron cosplay.

On the left is the raw printed version, and on the right is the sanded version. They don’t look much different, I guess.

On the left is the version shown in the Star Wars: The Force Awakens Visual Dictionary by Pablo Hidalgo, and on the right is my finished version. Mine ended up being a lot more weathered, but I think it looks pretty good. I just used acrylic paint and sealed it with a coat of Mod Podge.

IMG_4987

Here are a bunch of different views of it.

map-movie

The above is a still from the film, and it doesn’t seem like any of the 3D print files I’ve seen look very much like this one (they all seem to be based off of the Visual Dictionary photo), but that’s fine with me. I’m just happy to have a fun little prop to go with my cosplay!

Leave a Reply

