General Hux: Hat & Tunic

I haven’t posted in a few days because I’ve been busy working on a few costume pieces. That just means there’s going to be a lot of posts coming up!

I received my General Hux costume from CosplaySky on Monday, and I’m actually pretty happy with it, for the most part.

hux

The greatcoat is well-made, but I’m going to need to get it professionally tailored because it’s very big in the shoulders (which isn’t a fault in the coat’s construction – I just have small shoulders). I’ll also have to take off the rank insignia bands on the right arm since they’re only supposed to be on the left arm. I’m also going to remake the bands, since they’re not quite what I’d like.

The trousers are great and probably won’t need any alterations. They’re super comfy.

The tunic is a good start, but needs tailoring as well. The neck and shoulders are really big on me, and the same thing applies with the rank insignia bands – the ones on the right arm need to be removed. The shoulders don’t have epaulettes, either.

The belt is very cheap and doesn’t even have a buckle (just silver vinyl) so it’s not really useful, even for a “close enough” costume. The gloves are pretty cheap, too, so I’m glad I bought a different pair.

But, considering the price, this is a steal. Even with the cost of having to get the greatcoat tailored, it’ll be a deal.

Anyway, I decided to try my hand at tailoring the tunic myself.

These are the original rank insignia bands. They’re made of the same fabric as the tunic, and the white bands are satin fabric. They’re pretty wide, and they’re only sewn on at the sleeve seam and then tacked down in a couple other spots, so they kind of flop around on the sleeve.

tunic-before

And this is the original tunic. You can see the rank insignia “floppage” pretty well, here. The neck is also really big, and you can see that the shoulders are kind of big, too. The zipper is also kind of chunky and more noticeable than I’d like.

The first thing I did was take my seam ripper to the rank insignia bands and removed those from the sleeves. Then, I removed the collar from the tunic. After that, I ripped out the zipper. I was left with random pieces of my tunic, and kind of went into freak-out mode thinking this might not work at all.

tunic-epaulettes

New epaulettes!

I took apart the rank insignia bands and used the black fabric to create the epaulettes for the shoulders. I just hand-sewed them onto the shoulders.

tunic-aftercollar

Altered collar and new zipper.

I took in the neck at the back center seam a little, and then took in the front at the zipper a little, which made the neckline a little smaller and ended up kind of pulling the shoulders in just enough so that I didn’t look like a football player or an extra on an 80s sitcom. I thought I’d need to adjust the collar size, but I didn’t need to after all. I reattached it to the tunic and modified the little flap that fastens under the collar so that I could tighten the neck a little when I wear it. It’s not as snug to my neck as it probably should be, but it’s much better than it was.

tunic-rankinsigniaafter

New rank insignia bands!

I installed a different zipper – a black one that is much slimmer, so it doesn’t show up as much. Then, I made new rank insignia bands by using 5/8″ black grosgrain ribbon and white fabric piping trim. I sewed the rank insignia bands on by hand and sewed them all the way around so there’s no more “flappage” happening. Then, I sewed up the open seam on the right sleeve where I had ripped it open to take the rank insignia bands off.

tunic-after

After some cursing, trial and error, and determination, I think it looks better!

Later in the week, I received my General Hux hat from theEmpiresNewClothes. Let me just say that this hat is absolutely fantastic and is so well made. My head is kind of small, so usually hats are just too big for me, so having one made to fit me perfectly is such a treat. Katie did such an amazing job on the hat, and I could not be happier. I can’t recommend her work enough! If you need a First Order officer hat or an Imperial Officer hat, definitely order one from her. She can even make one using fabric you’ve used for the rest of your costume.

The pin is the one that came with the cheap First Order officer hat I bought off of Amazon. It looks really nice on my awesome hat, doesn’t it?

17458299_10154340825528038_1548171933669201436_n

I tried to pull my best Hux face, but I don’t know if I’ve got it down quite yet. I may have also been too happy to make an angry face since I love this hat so much.

Anyway, that’s some of what I’ve been up to the past few days! I’ll be taking in my greatcoat for tailoring this weekend, so that will be the last bit that needs to be altered. I placed the order for my belt, but I’m not sure when that will arrive. I’m hoping I’ll be able to wear my Hux cosplay by mid-April or early May, at least.

Leave a Reply

