Poe Dameron (Jakku) – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

IMG_5489-2

I saw Star Wars: The Force Awakens when it came out, and like a lot of people, I instantly fell in love with Poe Dameron. I knew instantly that I wanted to build a cosplay, and I really liked his outfit from the first third of the film where he’s on Jakku. I began working on this cosplay in March 2016 and had V1 done by July 2016. V2 work started in April 2017.

JacketFinn/Poe Dameron Brown Jacket (Women’s) from Film Jackets. There are two versions – the brown version and the tan version. I opted for the brown version, mainly because it had a zipper and I wanted to use the jacket as an actual spring/fall jacket (I mean, why not? It’s real leather and everything). It’s weird, though, the women’s version still fits kind of slim in the hips and big in the shoulders like a men’s jacket, so it doesn’t fit quite as well as I had hoped. I really love this jacket, though, and the leather is super soft. I have 3D printed “greeblies” to add to the jacket, which I’ll be doing soon.

Shirt: Cotton kurta from Amazon that I modified slightly and then dyed. (Progress photos can be found in this post and this post.)

Pants: Cargo pants from eBay that I made modifications to, and then dyed. (Progress photos can be found in this post.)

BeltBrown leather belt from Amazon that I dyed a little darker, and a plain belt buckle from Tandy Leather that I painted. (Progress photos can be found in this post.)

Boots: I purchased a pair of black Teva ‘Capistrano’ boots from eBay, since they’re no longer in production. I plan on adding a leather strap to them eventually.

Wig: You know who has red hair? Me. Know who doesn’t? Poe. Solution? WIG! I bought mine from Arda Wigs and styled the heck out of it. (Progress photos can be found in this post.)

EL-16HFE Blaster: Finally! I have one! This was 3D printed and finished by yours truly. (Tons of progress photos can be found in this post.)

Map to Luke Skywalker: This was 3D printed and painted. (Photos can be found in this post.)

Blue Squadron Helmet: I repainted a Black Series Poe Dameron helmet. (Photos can be found in this post.)

Other Things: I made my own blousing straps out of elastic to “blouse” my pants military-style, since tucking them into the boots was practically impossible without looking frumpy.

2 thoughts on “Poe Dameron (Jakku) – Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Leave a comment